Yesterday evening I had visited one of my friends an ex-colleague. And since we had met after quite sometime as usual we were onto a  lot of catching up and watching TV. Actually on TV Mithuda’s hit Bangla movie was playing and we were enjoying and my friend’s 2 yr old daughter was into her usual antics and playing around.
Then an bharpur action scene came up(afterall Mithunda’s Film) and the crooks were beating Mithunda black and blue. Seeing that my friend’s little daughter came running to me visible distressed by all the voilence and said “ola oke malsey” (They are beating him) so inorder to pacify her I said “ora to baje, dustu lok tai oke marche” (They are Bad Men so they are beating), “Bhalo lokera mare naa”(Good man doesn’t beat). She looked at me and repeated “ola baje” (They are Bad) nodding her head. I was elated that I was able to ‘teach’ a little girl the ills of voilence.
But my joy was short lived when invincible Mithunda rose like a Phoenix from the dust and started hitting the villians. Seeing this the little girl came back to me and asked “ooto to malsey” (He is also beating) now I was in a fix as to How to explain a 2 yr that this ‘Good Man’ is retaliating and sometimes you may ‘hit back’ to save yourself.
I looked at my friend for some help as he might have handled such queries earlier but he smiled and turned towards the TV as if saying “you handle buddy you started it”. The lil one was demanding an explanation but I was searching for one for a 2 yr old. I was saved by the child’s mother who called her to the kitchen seeing my plight, Thanks Boudi. I was Saved for then but I was left thinking How do we teach our children what is right and what is not or may be with age and maturity they learn it on their own.

Yesterday evening I had visited one of my friends an ex-colleague. And since we had met after quite sometime as usual we were onto a  lot of catching up and watching TV. Actually on TV Mithuda’s hit Bangla movie was playing and we were enjoying and my friend’s 2 yr old daughter was into her usual antics and playing around.

Then an bharpur action scene came up(afterall Mithunda’s Film) and the crooks were beating Mithunda black and blue. Seeing that my friend’s little daughter came running to me visibly distressed by all the violence and said “ola oke malsey” (They are beating him) so inorder to pacify her I said “ora to baje, dustu lok tai oke marche” (They are Bad Men so they are beating), “Bhalo lokera mare naa”(Good man doesn’t beat). She looked at me and repeated “ola baje” (They are Bad) nodding her head. I was elated that I was able to ‘teach’ a little girl the ills of voilence.

But my joy was short lived when invincible Mithunda rose like a Phoenix from the dust and started hitting the villains. Seeing this the little girl came back to me and asked “ooto to malsey” (He is also beating) now I was in a fix as to How to explain a 2 yr that this ‘Good Man’ is retaliating and sometimes you may ‘hit back’ to save yourself.

I looked at my friend for some help as he might have handled such queries earlier but he smiled and turned towards the TV as if saying “you handle buddy you started it”. The lil one was demanding an explanation but I was searching for one for a 2 yr old. I was bailed out by the child’s mother who called her to the kitchen seeing my plight, Thanks Boudi. I was Saved for then but I was left thinking How do we teach our children what is right and what is not or may be with age and maturity they learn it on their own.

