Jaago re is campaign by an NGO and Tata Tea backed by a number of corporates and media companies. Its gr8 to see that corporates and media trying to create awareness about the fundamental right of citizens of a democratic country. The Lead India campaign by TOI also a superb initiative in this direction. All these reminds me of my late grandmother who at 86 inspite of being bed ridden wanted to be carried to the booth on election day so that she can vote…. who created awareness in her? My Granny is not an exception. I have seen thousands of senior citizens in West Bengal lining up to vote. Where do they get so much enthu ? I don’t know about others but I myself have been voting since I gained eligibility, in all elections right from the housing society to parliament. Did I need a corporate spending millions to teach me my duty ?  I think this has something to do with the environment maybe as I have been raised in a politically aware and charged up state this thing came naturally to me. As elections in my state are no less that a festival but when I see Bangalore nothing of that scale happens it surprises me…

The Gen Y here cares the least about the elections I guess…maybe thats why they need corporates shouting at the top of their voices asking everyone to go and vote, do their fundamental duty. I have also registered with the jaago re  site so that I can vote in my current place of residence but the red tape that I faced did budge me a bit…
so do I say jaago re… vote karo re.. because every vote counts 🙂

